

Serving twenty-three counties in Southwest Iowa



OFFICIAL

OFFICE of the BISHOP

Bishop William Joensen has made the following priest assignments effective July 14, 2022, unless otherwise noted.

Monsignor Frank Chiodo from Pastor St. Anthony, Des Moines, Iowa, to retirement

Rev. Ray McHenry from Pastor St. Francis of Assisi, West Des Moines, Iowa, to retirement

Rev. Mike McLaughlin from Metro Hospital Chaplaincy, Des Moines, Iowa, to retirement, effective March 1.

Rev. Dean Nimerichter from Pastor Holy Trinity Parish of SE Warren County, Lacona, Iowa, to retirement

Rev. Patrick Amedeka from the Diocese of Cape Coast, Ghana, to Canonical Administrator, Holy Spirit, Creston, Iowa, and St. Edward, Afton, Iowa

Rev. Ryan Andrew from Teacher/Chaplain, Dowling Catholic High School, West Des Moines, Iowa to Parochial Vicar, St. Luke the Evangelist, Ankeny, Iowa

Rev. Guthrie Dolan from Associate Pastor, St. Anthony, Des Moines, Iowa, to Clinical Chaplaincy Formation

Rev. James Downey from Parochial Vicar, Our Lady's Immaculate Heart and St. Luke the Evangelist, Ankeny, Iowa, to Faculty, Dowling Catholic High School, West Des Moines, Iowa

Rev. Reed Flood from graduate studies, Rome, Italy, to Chaplain, Dowling Catholic High School, West Des Moines, Iowa, and sacramental assistance, St. Boniface, Waukee, Iowa

Rev. Chris Fontanini from Pastor St. Thomas Aquinas, Indianola, Iowa, and Immaculate Conception, St. Marys, Iowa, to Pastor, St. Joseph, Des Moines, Iowa

Rev. James Kirby from leave of absence to Pastor, St. Mary/Holy Cross, Elkhart, Iowa

Rev. Reynaldo Hernandez Minero from Hispanic Chaplain, Christ the King, St. Anthony and Basilica of St. John, Des Moines, Iowa, returning to home Diocese of Zacatecoluca, El Salvador, effective July 1.

Rev. Emmanuel Offiong from Archdiocese of Calabar, Nigeria, to Metro Hospital Chaplaincy, Des Moines, Iowa, November 2021

Rev. Sylvester Omon Okoh from Administrator, St. Patrick, Neola, Iowa, and St. Columbanus, Weston, Iowa, to Pastor, St. Clare Parish, Clarinda, Iowa; Sacred Heart Parish, Bedford, Iowa; and St. Joseph Parish, Villisca, Iowa

Rev. Augustin Clement Owusu from Administrator, St. Joseph, Earling, Iowa; St. Peter, Defiance, Iowa; St. Michael, Harlan, Iowa, and Canonical Administrator, Shelby County Catholic School to Pastor, St. Michael, Harlan, Iowa, and Canonical Administrator, Shelby County Catholic School

Rev. Joseph Pins from Pastor, St. Joseph, Des Moines, Iowa, to Pastor, St. Francis of Assisi, West Des Moines, Iowa

Rev. Chris Reising from Pastor, St. Bernard, Osceola, Iowa; St. Patrick, Grand River, Iowa; and St. Joseph, Mt. Ayr, Iowa, to Pastor, St. Anthony, Des Moines, Iowa

Rev. Tomson Thomas from temporary sacramental assistance to Our Lady of Americas, Des Moines, Iowa, and Christ the King, Des Moines, Iowa, to Administrator St. Bernard, Osceola, Iowa; St. Patrick, Grand River, Iowa; and St. Joseph, Mt. Ayr, Iowa

Rev. Eze Venantius Umunnakwe, C.S.Sp. from Pastor, St. Clare, Clarinda, Iowa; Sacred Heart, Bedford, Iowa; and St. Joseph, Villisca, Iowa to Pastor, Holy Trinity Parish of SE Warren County, Lacona, Iowa, and Immaculate Conception, St. Marys, Iowa

Rev. Adam Westphal from Pastor Holy Spirit, Creston, Iowa, and St. Edward, Afton, Iowa, to Pastor, St. Thomas Aquinas, Indianola, Iowa, and Chaplain, Simpson College

Rev. Andrew Windschitl from St. Mary/Holy Cross, Elkhart, Iowa, to Pastor, St. Joseph, Earling, Iowa, and St. Peter, Defiance, Iowa

Rev. Mr. Dennis Lovell while remaining Director of Parish Life Holy Family, Mondamin, Iowa, appointed Director of Parish Life, St. Anne, Logan, Iowa, effective April 1

Rev. Mr. Michael Carney appointed Director of Parish Life, St. Patrick, Missouri Valley, Iowa, effective April 1

Most Rev. William M. Joensen, Ph.D.

Bishop of Des Moines

+ Man M. Jours

Jason A. Kurth Chancellor

Jaom a. Kush